Welcome

Welcome to my food blog!

After much dithering and delaying, I’ve finally made the effort to sit down and begin the blog I’ve been making mental contributions to for the last year. Although that makes it sounds as if I view this whole project as a chore, that’s not the case at all – my hesitance is more from a lack of confidence. My blogs in the past have failed because I’ve been so self-conscious, and so paranoid of being judged. But I have a new resolution: stop caring!

Before I get started I may as well give myself, the blogger, a bit of an introduction. My name’s Amy, and I’m a first-year uni student. Food is a passion of mine: I love cooking food, looking at food, thinking about food, and eating food. I developed an interest in food in my early teens, which stemmed into my experimenting with recipes and flavours – with often dubious results, but since then, I’ve made some progress.

Beginning uni and having to fend for myself has provided me with an outlet for my food-related interests: feeding myself has never been a chore, but rather a pleasure, and a source of excitement. I love browsing recipes and planning what I’m going to eat prior to cooking. Every mealtime is an event I look forward to, regardless of how little time I can spare to invest in it.

This university experience hasn’t been a smooth ride, in terms of my relationship with food and nutrition. I’ve misjudged the idea of a ‘healthy’ diet, and I’m now coming back to terms with the real concept of a balanced diet. My attitude to the food I put into my own body took an unhealthy turn, and not in the usual student sense: I just wasn’t eating enough.

So this blog is as much as a private enterprise as it is a public one: I want to share my ideas and preferences as I continue to restore my relationship with my body. In particular, I want to focus on a simple approach to food: fad-free, unpretentious, and accessible. As a student, I’m always on the lookout for cooks and bloggers who share this view.

I’m excited to get started! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

